

## BALDWIN COUNTY COMMISSION BALDWIN COUNTY, ALABAMA

## **PROCLAMATION**

## PROCLAIMING APRIL 13-19, 2025, AS NATIONAL TELECOMMUNICATORS / COMMUNICATION OFFICERS WEEK IN BALDWIN COUNTY, ALABAMA.

**WHEREAS**, the second week of April is dedicated to the men and women who serve as Public Safety Telecommunications Specialists, providing invaluable services to law enforcement personnel throughout the country and in Baldwin County, Alabama; and

**WHEREAS**, Telecommunicators were first recognized nationwide by the Contra Costa County Sheriff's Office in 1991; and

**WHEREAS**, in the early 1990s, the National Association of Public Safety Communications Officials received from the United States Congress, a proclamation through Resolution 284 to create National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week; and

**WHEREAS**, over 500,000 Telecommunications Specialists provide professional services to first responders throughout the United States; and

**WHEREAS**, the Baldwin County Sheriff's Office receives invaluable and crucial services provided by 22 Communications Officers; and

**WHEREAS**, the Baldwin County Sheriff's Office provides interoperability communication to all law enforcement in Baldwin County by its Baldwin County Emergency Radio Network community channel; and

**WHEREAS**, the Baldwin County Sheriff's Office Communications Division receives approximately 100,000 calls for services each year; and

**WHEREAS**, Baldwin County 9-1-1 receives an additional 100,000 or more, 911 calls for service for fire, medical, and law enforcement related emergencies; now therefore

**BE IT PROCLAIMED**, by the Baldwin County Commission and the Baldwin County Sheriff's Office that the week of April 13-19, 2025, is hereby designated as Telecommunicators / Communication Officers Week in Baldwin County, Alabama.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and caused the Seal of Baldwin County, Alabama, to be affixed on this the 1st day of April 2025.

Commissioner James E. Ball Vice Chairman	Commissioner Matthew P. McKenzie Chairman
Commissioner Billie Jo Underwood	Commissioner Charles F. Gruber