SOUTH ALABAMA RURAL PLANNING ORGANIZATION (RPO)

Contact: Tom Piper, Senior Transportation Planner South Alabama Regional Planning Commission P.O. Box 1665 Mobile, Alabama 36633 (251) 433-6541

General Board Information:

RPO seeks to establish a transportation planning process in the rural areas of South Alabama comprising the areas of Mobile County (AL), Baldwin County (AL) and Escambia County (AL), which are not included in the Mobile County Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Study Area.

Member Governments in the RPO are: Baldwin County Commission, Escambia County Commission, Mobile County Commission, City of Gulf Shores, City of Orange Beach, City of Bay Minette, City of Daphne, City of Fairhope, City of Foley, City of Robertsdale, Town of Silverhill, Town of Magnolia Springs, City of Spanish Fort, Town of Summerdale, Town of Elberta, Town of Loxley, City of Brewton, City of East Brewton, Town of Flomaton, City of Atmore, Town of Riverview, Town of Pollard, Town of Dauphin Island, Town of Mount Vernon, City of Citronelle, Poarch Band of Creek Indians, MOWA Baldwin of Choctaw Indians and the Alabama Department of Transportation.

Policy Committee

Baldwin County Commission designates the Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission to the 'Policy Committee' of the RPO for service during the respective term of office for each Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission. Any member of the "Policy Committee," as designated by the Baldwin County Commission, must be a Baldwin County Commissioner.

Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee

Baldwin County Commission designates the Baldwin County Planning Director, Baldwin County Engineer and Baldwin County Regional Area Transit System Director to the 'Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee' of the RPO for their respective service during each person's tenure in such position.

Baldwin County Commission appoints one (1) citizen to the 'Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee' to a two (2) year term. The Baldwin County Commission can appoint any combination of staff or citizens and place the length of terms for each as they deem appropriate or change the combination thereof.

MEMBERS	APPOINTED/REAPPOINTED	TERM OF OFFICE	EXPIRATION DATE
Commissioner Charles F. Gruber, Chairman 312 Courthouse Square, Suite 12 Bay Minette, AL 36507 Member of the Policy Committee	Appointed 11/16/2022 to replace previous Chairman James E. Ball	*	11/06/2023
With the Folicy Committee			
Matthew Brown	11/16/2021	**	**
Baldwin County Planning Director	(To replace previous Planning Director Vince Jackson)		
Member of the Technical/Citizens Advisory Committee			
Joey Nunnally	Appointed 11/07/2017 to replace	**	**
Baldwin County Engineer	previous County Engineer Cal Markert		
Member of the Technical/Citizens Advisory Committee			

SOUTH ALABAMA RURAL PLANNING ORGANIZATION (RPO) - Cont. **MEMBERS** APPOINTED/REAPPOINTED **TERM OF OFFICE EXPIRATION** DATE Ann Simpson Baldwin Regional Area Transit (To replace previous BRATS Director Taylor System Director Rider) Member of the Technical/Citizens **Advisory Committee** 05/01/2013 Stan Virden Reappointed 11/15/2011 term continuing from 2 years P. O. Box 475 05/01/2011 Gulf Shores, AL 36547 Member of the Technical/Citizens **Advisory Committee**

*REVISED: 11/16/2022 clc

^{*} Term continues for the respective terms of office for each Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission. (Typically, term as Chairman expires the first Tuesday in November except in an election year, when the new Commission meets officially for the first time on the Tuesday, following election, i.e. the second Tuesday.)

^{**} Term continues for the respective period of service, to the Baldwin County Commission, as Director or Engineer.