

COUNTY COMMISSION

BALDWIN COUNTY 312 Courthouse Square, Suite 12 BAY MINETTE, ALABAMA 36507

(251) 937-0264 Fax (251) 580-2500 www.baldwincountyal.gov MEMBERS
DISTRICT 1 FRANK BURT, JR.
2 CHRIS ELLIOTT
3. J. TUCKER DORSEY
4 CHARLES F. GRUBER

May 22, 2018

The Honorable Elaine L. Chao U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue Washington, DC 20590 The Honorable Ronald Batory Federal Railroad Administration 1200 New Jersey Avenue Washington, DC 20590

RE: Support for Southern Rail Commission FY17 CRISI, R&E Grants

Dear Secretary Chao and Administrator Batory:

In February, the FRA made available funding through the Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) Program and the Restoration and Enhancement Grants (REG) Program. These two programs benefit the restoration of Gulf Coast passenger rail service to America's Gulf Coast, suspended since Hurricane Katrina in 2005 - which includes Baldwin County, Alabama, and the Baldwin County Commission. The Southern Rail Commission (SRC) is actively preparing the necessary grant applications to access funding through these programs that will support needed infrastructure improvements and offset state-level initial operational costs to restore a daily passenger service between Mobile and New Orleans. These Federal investments will leverage significant state funding and help create jobs, economic development opportunities, improved connections for residents, and additional travel options for tourists. This daily passenger rail service will enhance mobility, reduce highway environmental impacts, and allow for safer and more efficient hurricane evacuations and response.

With this letter, we want to express our support for the restoration of passenger service to the Gulf Coast, and to the SRC as it seeks funding commitments from Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama for the FY17 CRISI and R&G grant applications.

Sincerely,

Commissioner Frank Burt, Jr., Chairman

Commissioner T. Christopher Elliott

Commissioner J. Tucker Dorsey

Commissioner Charles F. Gruber,

Vice Chairman

Courtesy Copy to:

John Robert Smith, Chair, Transportation for America

1152 15th St NW. Suite 450 Washington, DC 20005