

BALDWIN COUNTY COMMISSION BALDWIN COUNTY, ALABAMA

PROCLAMATION

PROCLAIMING MAY 9 - 15, 2021, AS NATIONAL LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS MEMORIAL WEEK IN BALDWIN COUNTY, ALABAMA.

WHEREAS, the Congress of the United States of America recognized the second week of May, as National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Week; and

WHEREAS, Law Enforcement Officers who have been killed or died in the line of duty, deserve to be remembered and honored each year; and

WHEREAS, the work of all Law Enforcement Officers is essential to preserving peace in our communities and ensuring the safety of precious lives and property; and

WHEREAS, the families of those who have suffered the loss of a Law Enforcement Officer are forever recognized and honored for their loss; and

WHEREAS, Baldwin County Sheriff's Office has lost the following Deputy Sheriffs who were killed in the line of duty:

Deputy Abram Johnson, End of Watch December 26, 1881; and Deputy James Stewart, End of Watch April 11, 1895; and Deputy Howard Dutton, End of Watch October 1, 1987; and Deputy Scott Ward, End of Watch November 23, 2012;

WHEREAS, the Law Enforcement Officers Memorial for Baldwin County is located in Robertsdale, Alabama, and has affixed upon, the names of all 10 law enforcement officers who have been killed in the line of duty in Baldwin County; therefore

BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BALDWIN COUNTY COMMISSION, IN REGULAR SESSION ASSEMBLED, that the week of May 9 - 15, 2021, is hereby designated as Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Week in Baldwin County, Alabama. The Baldwin County Commission and the Baldwin County Sheriff's Office extends its most heartfelt gratitude and eternal appreciation for those who have made the ultimate sacrifice, gone beyond the full measure, and given not only of their personal lives, but also have caused hardship upon their families in doing so.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and caused the Seal of the County of Baldwin to be affixed at the County Seat in Bay Minette, Alabama, on this the 6th day of April, 2021.

Commissioner Joe Davis, III, Chairman	

ATTEST:			