

Baldwin County Commission

Legislation Text

File #: 20-1189, Version: 1

Meeting Type: BCC Regular Meeting

Meeting Date: 7/7/2020

Item Status: New

From: Felisha Anderson, Archives Director

Submitted by: Felisha Anderson, Archives Director

ITEM TITLE

Baldwin County Historic Development Commission - Board Appointment(s)

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Related to the Baldwin County Historic Development Commission, take the following actions:

- 1) Appoint Ms. Ione Jurkiewicz for a pro-rata reduced four (4) year term, to the place seat formerly held by Ms. Gloria Bitto, said term to commence on July 7, 2020, and expire on July 3, 2024; and
- 2) Thank Ms. Gloria Bitto for her prior civic service as a member of the board; and
- 3) Appoint Mr. David Brandon Peed for a pro-rata reduced four (4) year term, to the place seat formerly held by Mr. Johnny Biggs, said term to commence on July 7, 2020, and expire on July 3, 2024; and
- 4) Thank Mr. Johnny Biggs for his prior civic service as a member of the board; and
- 5) Reappoint Ms. Sandra Stewart for a four (4) year term, said term continuing from July 3, 2020, and expiring on July 3, 2024; and
- 6) Reappoint Ms. Jeanette Bornholt for a four (4) year term, said term continuing from July 3, 2020, and expiring on July 3, 2024.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Previous Commission action/date: July 17, 2018 - Last BCC action.

Background: The Baldwin County Historic Development Commission was created by Baldwin County Local Legislative Act No. 80-497 (1980), as amended by Act 89-960 (1989), as a board to have no less than eleven (11) members, appointed by the County Commission, to preserve and protect buildings of historic and architectural value within a Historic District(s), further, to foster and encourage preservation, restoration and utilization of buildings of historic and architectural value

File #: 20-1189, Version: 1

within a Historic District and develop and promote Historic District(s) as tourist attractions.

The Baldwin County Commission, at its regularly meeting on October 1, 2002, adopted and approved an amended Constitution and by-laws of the Baldwin County Historic Development Commission to provide such Board be composed of twelve (12) members.

Today, all members of the twelve (12) member Baldwin County Historic Development Commission serve four (4) years, overlapping terms each through election/appointment by the Baldwin County Commission, such terms beginning on the 3rd day of July in the year appointed/reappointed as specified in the Baldwin County Historic Development Commission's Constitution and by-laws.

Staff finds that pursuant to Section 11 of Act No. 80-497, as amended by Act No. 89-960, coupled with an analysis of the Baldwin County Historic Development Commission's Constitution and by-laws, that the only requirement for appointments to such Board be that each person appointed must be a resident of Baldwin County, Alabama.

With the only qualification for members of the Baldwin County Historic Development Board being that all members are residents of Baldwin County, Alabama, staff asserts that the nominees are qualified to be appointed to the Baldwin County Historic Development Commission.

FINANCIAL IMPACT

Total cost of recommendation: N/A

Budget line item(s) to be used: N/A

If this is not a budgeted expenditure, does the recommendation create a need for funding? N/A

LEGAL IMPACT

Is legal review necessary for this staff recommendation and related documents? N/A

Reviewed/approved by: N/A

Additional comments: N/A

ADVERTISING REQUIREMENTS

Is advertising required for this recommendation? N/A

If the proof of publication affidavit is not attached, list the reason: N/A

File #: 20-1189, Version: 1

FOLLOW UP IMPLEMENTATION

For time-sensitive follow up, select deadline date for follow up: N/A

Individual(s) responsible for follow up: Administration to mail out letters to members of the board with copies to Archives and History to the attention of Felisha Anderson.

Action required (list contact persons/addresses if documents are to be mailed or emailed):

Appointment Letter to:

Ms. Ione Jurkiewicz P O Box 704 Magnolia Springs, Alabama 36555

Mr. David Brandon Peed 510 East 5th Street Bay Minette, Alabama 36507

Re-appointment letters to:

Ms. Sandra Stewart 23885 Wolf Bay Drive Foley, Alabama 36535

Ms. Jeanette Bornholt 26697 Frank Road Elberta, Alabama 36530

Thank You letter to:

Ms. Gloria Bitto 14114 County Road 83 Elberta, Alabama 36530

Mr. Johnny Biggs 705 Marks Avenue Bay Minette, Alabama 36507

Additional instructions/notes: N/A