

Legislation Text

File #: 22-0227, Version: 1

Meeting Type: BCC Regular Meeting
Meeting Date: 11/16/2021
Item Status: New
From: Wayne Dyess, County Administrator; Anu Gary, Administrative Services Manager
Submitted by: Kristen M. Rawson, Assistant Administrative Services Manager

ITEM TITLE

South Alabama Rural Planning Organization (RPO) - Board Appointment(s)

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

As related to the South Alabama Rural Planning Organization (RPO), take the following actions:

1) Recognize that Mr. Matthew Brown, by virtue of serving as the Baldwin County Planning Director, is a member of the Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee and for Mr. Brown's tenure as the Baldwin County Planning Director; and

2) Recognize that Ms. Ann Simpson, by virtue of serving as the Baldwin Regional Area Transit System (BRATS) Director, is a member of the Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee and for Ms. Simpson's tenure as BRATS Director.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Previous Commission action/date: November 2, 2021 - Last board appointment by BCC.

Background:

GENERAL BACKGROUND:

The South Alabama Rural Planning Organization (RPO) seeks to establish a transportation planning process in the rural areas of South Alabama comprising the areas of Mobile County (AL), Baldwin County (AL) and Escambia County (AL), which are not included in the Mobile County Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Study Area.

Member Governments in the RPO are: Baldwin County Commission, Escambia County Commission, Mobile County Commission, City of Gulf Shores, City of Orange Beach, City of Bay Minette, City of Daphne, City of Fairhope, City of Foley, City of Robertsdale, Town of Silverhill, Town of Magnolia Springs, City of Spanish Fort, Town of Summerdale, Town of Elberta, Town of Loxley, City of Brewton, City of East Brewton, Town of Flomaton, City of Atmore, Town of Riverview, Town of Pollard, Town of Dauphin Island, Town of Mount Vernon, City of Citronelle, Poarch Band of Creek Indians, MOWA Baldwin of Choctaw Indians and the Alabama Department of Transportation.

Policy Committee:

Baldwin County Commission designates the Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission to the Policy Committee of the RPO for service during the respective term of office for each Chairman of the Baldwin County Commission. Any member of the Policy Committee, as designated by the Baldwin County Commission, must be a Baldwin County Commissioner.

Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee:

Baldwin County Commission designates the Baldwin County Planning Director, Baldwin County Engineer and Baldwin County Regional Area Transit System Director to the 'Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee' of the RPO for their respective service during each person's tenure in such position.

Baldwin County Commission appoints one (1) citizen to the Technical / Citizens Advisory Committee to a two (2) year term. The Baldwin County Commission can appoint any combination of staff or citizens and place the length of terms for each as they deem appropriate or change the combination thereof.

The action requested today recognizes the current Planning Director and BRATS Director serve as members of the Technical/Citizens Advisory Committee of the RPO, terms to continue for the respective period of service to the Baldwin County Commission as Director.

FINANCIAL IMPACT

Total cost of recommendation: N/A

Budget line item(s) to be used: N/A

If this is not a budgeted expenditure, does the recommendation create a need for funding? N/A

LEGAL IMPACT

Is legal review necessary for this staff recommendation and related documents? N/A

Reviewed/approved by: N/A

Additional comments: N/A

ADVERTISING REQUIREMENTS

Is advertising required for this recommendation? N/A

If the proof of publication affidavit is not attached, list the reason: N/A

FOLLOW UP IMPLEMENTATION

For time-sensitive follow up, select deadline date for follow up: N/A

Individual(s) responsible for follow up: N/A

Action required (list contact persons/addresses if documents are to be mailed or emailed): Administration staff send notice of action to:

Tom Piper, Senior Transportation Planner South Alabama Regional Planning Commission Post Office Box 1665 Mobile, Alabama 36633

CC:

Matthew Brown Ann Simpson Wayne Dyess

Update board list, upload to BCAP, and notify Board Update email group.

Additional instructions/notes: N/A